“Books are the bees which carry the quickening pollen from one to another mind.”


      

I have seen the movie “The Secret Life of Bees” with Queen Latifah, Alicia Keys, Jennifer Hudson, and Dakota Fanning.  Amazing movie.  So this weekend I am garage-sale-shopping with a friend and I come across this book.  Immediately, I purchase it… and I am soooo glad I did!  It’s an amazing story no matter what but it is soooo much more powerful in print than in film.  I know that’s true of most stories…  but VERY noticeable in this one!!    

If you haven’t read the book or seen the movie, I would highly recommend it.  I completely enjoyed this book. The story is about a girl named Lily, who is the main character.  It’s a coming-of-age story where she learns to come into her own.  The basis begins with Lily  running away from her abusive father on a journey to find out the truth about her mother, who died when she was very young.  

The book also addresses  racial tension in the midst of the civil rights movement, and explores this issue when Lily finds a temporary home with a family of African-American sisters who are beekeepers.   

Anyway…VERY good read!  Am about to tackle Sharon Osborne’s new autobiography: Extreme.  I will let you know how that goes… 

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

