Vintage Art


Growing up Southern is a privilege, really.  It’s more than where you’re born, it’s an idea and state of mind that seems imparted at birth.  It’s more than loving fried chicken, sweet tea, football, and country music.  It’s being hospitable, devoted to front porches, magnolias, moon pies, and coca cola with peanuts for dessert.  In the south, the breeze blows softer…neighbors are friendlier, nosier, and more talkative.   Its a different place and a different way of life.  Our way of thinking is different, as are our ways of seeing, laughing, singing, eating, meeting, and parting.  Our walk is different, as the old song goes, our talk and our names.  

  “All I can say is that there’s a sweetness here, a Southern sweetness, that makes sweet music. . . . If I had to tell somebody who had never been to the South, who had never heard of soul music, what it was, I’d just have to tell him that it’s music from the heart, from the pulse, from the innermost feeling. That’s my soul; that’s how I sing. And that’s the South.”  — Al Green      

    • Mom
    • November 4th, 2010

    Vintage art is wonderful! This photo reminds me of the depression era back when Grandma Roncone and Grandpa King were kids. But it also reminds me of the recession of today. And how things are. It’s good to learn the lessons Grandpa King learned. That family stick together and help one another survive. Perseverance is the word I am looking for! 🙂

      • Mary
      • November 5th, 2010

      I agree! Thats how I felt when I saw the picture or where my mind was at when I saw it. I haven’t finished this post yet…but I have a short story about days of being careless and free…and young…and about peanuts in the old glass coca cola bottles…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

